Update 2: Only 1 withdrawal in Highline council races

Diana Holman, who previously filed for Burien City Council Position 4, is the only Highline city council candidate to withdraw before the June 16 deadline. Holman cited family privacy concerns.
Her withdrawal leaves incumbent Gordon M. Shaw facing challengers Joey Martinez and Bob Edgar.
The other Burien council primary battle will be between incumbent Lucy Krakowiak, Greg Duff and Ed Dacy.
In SeaTac, Mayor Terry Anderson, Abdi Heibe and Sandra Cook-Bensley are running for Position 3.
Louise H. Strander, Ruth Sanoy and Kate Kruller are running for Tukwila City Council Position 6.
Tukwila Mayor Jim Haggerton, running for re-election, is opposed by Pamela Linder.
Nonpartisan positions, where fewer that three people filed, will not appear on the August primary ballot.
Two withdrawals for Port of Seattle commissioner posts mean the Port races will not be on the primary ballot. Michael Wolfe withdrew from the Position 2 race, leaving Richard Pope and incumbent Gael Tarleton. Will (Walkin' Will) Knedlik took himself out of the Position 5 Port race. Dean Willard and incumbent Bill Bryant will face off in the November general election.
Port commissioners oversee operations at Sea-Tac International Airport.

Here is our previous coverage:

Filings ended June 10 for the primary election to be held on Aug. 16. Candidates have until June 16 to withdraw. The top two vote-getters in the primary election for each position will move on to the general election in November.

Local positions up for election include King County Council District 8, city councils, and the Port of Seattle commission.

For the King County Council, the candidates who have registered for District No. 8 are incumbent Joe McDermott, Goodspaceguy, and Diana Toledo.

Two Burien City Council races could see a lively primary contest. Registered for Position No. 2 are incumbent Lucy Krakowiak, Planning Commissioner Greg Duff, and community volunteer Ed Dacy.

For Position No. 4, the candidates are Diana Holman, Joey Martinez, incumbent Gordon M. Shaw, and Bob Edgar.

Appointed councilman Gerald Robison will face Debi Wagner for Position 6 in the general election.

There will be some new faces on the Des Moines City Council as two incumbents are not running for re-election. For Dan Sherman’s Position No. 2 seat registered to run are Carri Litowitz and Jeanette Burrage. For Scott Thomasson’s Postion No. 4 seat, the registered candidates are Dave Markwell and Dan Caldwell. For Position No. 6, filed are Mayor Bob Sheckler and Rebecca King.

For the Normandy Park City Council, the candidate who has registered for Position No. 1 is incumbent Doug Osterman. For Position No. 3, the candidates are Mayor Shawn McEvoy and Todd McKittrick. For Position No. 5, they are Stacia Jenkins and incumbent Charlie Harris. For William Enerson’s Position No. 7 seat, it is Susan J. West.

Spirited races are also expected in SeaTac where council votes are often split 4-3. The candidates who have registered for Position No. 1 are Deputy Mayor Gene Fisher and former Couuncilman Barry Ladenburg. For Position No. 3, they are Mayor Terry Anderson, Othman Abdi Heibe, and Sandra Cook-Bensley. For Ralph Shape’s Position No. 5 seat, they are Dave Bush and Michael T. Kovacs. For Position No. 7, they are incumbent Mia Su-Ling Gregerson and Erin Sitterley.

For the Tukwila City Council, the candidates who have registered for Position No. 2 are Mackenzie Weitzeil and incumbent Kathy Hougardy. For Position No. 4, they are incumbent Dennis Robertson and Abshir Mahamed. For Position No. 6, they are Louise H. Strander, Ruth Sanoy, and Kate Kruller.

For Port of Seattle Commission seats, the candidates who have registered for Position No. 2 are Michael Wolfe, incumbent Gael Tarleton, and Richard Pope. For Position No. 5, they are incumbent Bill Bryant, Dean Willard, and Will Knedlik.

For more information, go to www.kingcounty.gov/elections or to www.vote.wa.gov.

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.