Staff photo
Licensed firework displays are offered at the Des Moines Marina, Angle Lake Park in SeaTac and Fort Dent Park in Tukwila.

Fireworks banned in most Highline cities

Personal fireworks are banned in all areas of Highline, except the city of Normandy Park and unincorporated North Highline.

Unless part of a licensed public display, fireworks are outlawed in the cities of Burien, Des Moines, SeaTac and Tukwila.

However, licensed fireworks displays are set for the evening of July 4th at the Des Moines Marina, Angle Lake in SeaTac, Fort Dent Park in Tukwila and Burien’s Three Tree Point.

Even in areas where personal fireworks are allowed, restrictions are stringent.

In Normandy Park, the first day the discharge of personal fireworks is allowed is June 28th from noon-11 p.m.
From June 29-July 3, fireworks are allowed from 9 a.m.-11 p.m.
On Independence Day, July 4, use is permitted from 9 a.m.-midnight.
On the final day, July 5, fireworks are allowed from 9 a.m.-11 p.m.

In White Center and the rest of unincorporated King County, fireworks may be discharged only on July 4 from 9 a.m.-midnight.
Fireworks sales are legal beginning at noon on June 28 until 11 p.m. and then daily between the hours of 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. through July 4. No sales can occur after July 4.
To purchase fireworks you must be at least 16 years of age with picture identification.

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.