Lancers fall to Mount Si, 38-7

History repeated itself.
The Kennedy Catholic High School football team's Class 3A state playoff run ended with a 38-7 loss to Mount Si -- the same team that dealt the Lancers their only previous loss of the year by a 30-0 score in the season opener.

JFK finished with a 9-2 overall record with Friday's state quarterfinal loss in North Bend.

A win would have advanced the Lancers into this coming weekend's state semifinals in the Tacoma Dome, but it was not to be.

Mount Si advanced instead, carrying with it an 11-1 overall record.
Mount Si quarterback Nick Mitchell proved to be too tough to handle, completing 19 of 29 passes for 228 yards.

The Lancers' lone touchdown came on a 10-yard run by Drew Thompson.
Kennedy had bounced back from the season opening loss to the Wildcats, winning an undefeated Seamount League title along the way to state.

The Lancers opened the playoffs with a 35-29 win over Mountlake Terrace before posting a 20-14 win over Columbia River in Vancouver.

Players on the roster for this year's team coached by Bob Bourgette included Drew Thompson, Chandler Reed, Antonio Wynter, Ramsey Bauer, Josh Harms, Anthony Parker, Conner Richardson, Nate Randall, Colin Cossette, Nick Jang, Cole Madison, Stone Lavin, Ryan Kolbrick, Luis Diaz, Tristan Vogeler, Michael Werlech, Jacob Thurber, Pierce Thompson, Liam Dahlke, James Merrill, Tony Sprague, Alex Lesar, Ben Josie, Zach Nobmann, Dominic Peretti, Jensen Merrill, Edmund Benge, Chaz Bergseth, Estabon Osses, Milo Steckler, Julio Castillo, Ciaran Sanders, Caleb Yarbrough, Haydon Clifton, John Czaplewski, Adam Delmore, Ethan Weigel, Lukas Bachmann, Joe Petrafeso, Joe Arbow, Manase Kamoto, Desmoun Thompson, Jacob Santillan, Sebastian Ferraro, Rhyse Frey, Peter Hildebrandt, Matt Hisken, Andrew Ellington and Joey Kane.

Bourgette was assiisted by Dino Josie, Don Hoffman, Don Moore, Bob Bourgette Jr., Paul Arnold, Rico Peretti, Mario Santini, Dan Murray, Cory Jones, Trevor Carpine and Joe Shaw.

Bourgette is also the Kennedy athletic director and Mike Prato is the principal.

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.